Portsmouth Rotary Club Installs New Board

The Rotary Club of Portsmouth (RCP) installed a new board on July 31, to run the affairs of the club. Hon. Ian Douglas, Minister of Legal Affairs and MP for Portsmouth was on hand to witness the event which was held at the Champs in Picard, Portsmouth. A number of visiting Rotarians from around Dominica were also present for the ceremony

New board members include President -Morrison Azille , Vice President – Lise van de Kamp, Secretary – Matilda Carty, Treasurer – Trish Edwards, Projects Chair – Gregor Nassief, PR – Hans Schilders, Foundations Chair – John Hawley and Membership Chair – Catherine Joseph Karam.

Rotary Assistant District Governor, AG Haynes, was present to swear in and place the Rotarian pins on the new President and board members. This was followed by pinning all other Rotary members.

Two new members, Jennifer Swaim and Marvlyn Valentine were also introduced and presented with their citations, oaths and pins.

Following the ceremony, the RCP held their 3rd annual Raffle Draw to raise funds for two major projects; Sanitation Project for Calibishie and the Portsmouth Emergency Room Remodeling.

The Sanitation project- the installation of 60 toilets and septic tanks in private homes – is being undertaken in conjunction with the government which has pledged to provide the materials,

Ross University School of Medicine is partnering with RCP, providing various equipment and assistance

Leave a Reply